skip to main content


Announces next two-year cycle, 2017-2019

Molly Donovan, PhD, Chair

Robert Schulte, MSW, Dean


All conference sessions take place on a Friday and Saturday
9AM–6:30PM.  12 CE/CME credits are awarded for attendance at each weekend.

October 6 – 7, 2017
January 26 – 27, 2018
April 27 – 28, 2018

September 28 – 29, 2018
January 25 – 26, 2019
April 26 – 27, 2019

Weekend Topics Will Be Announced Shortly

 The Institute offers a two-year program of six intensive group weekends, focusing on contemporary approaches to dynamic group psychotherapy. Difficult issues in group therapy are highlighted. Each weekend offers multiple opportunities within the faculty/member community for didactic and experiential learning.

Participation in the Institute is open to mental health practitioners, clinicians-in-training and professionals in related fields. There are two levels of participation. Full participants attend the entire cycle of six conferences and belong to the same small group throughout. Weekend participants attend on a per conference basis, are assigned to a small group formed only for that weekend, and may return for future conferences.

Eligibility and Selection

The Program is open to psychiatrists, medical residents, psychologists, doctoral psychology students, social workers, social work students, nurses, counselors and other licensed mental health professionals.

Please apply. Applicants are invited to submit a CV and application. An interview with the Program Chair, Dean or a member of the Selection Committee will be conducted prior to acceptance into the One-year Program.

The deadline for applications is September 1.


For Further Information

Contact the Chair or Dean with any additional questions:

Molly Donovan, Chair, 202-822-8070, or
Robert Schulte, Dean, 703-838-1633,

CE/CME Award

72 CE/CME credits for the 2 year cycle..


$2000 total, $1000 due each year.

Scholarship Support

The Sy Rubenfeld Scholarship Fund provides financial support for tuition for clinicians-in-training and early career professionals based on available funds. Contact the Dean for more information. Scholarship application.


NGPI Faculty

Molly Donovan, PhD, CGP, FAGPA (Chair)
Robert Schulte, MSW, CGP (Dean)

Maryetta Andrews-Sachs, MA, CGP, FAGPA
Kavita Avula, PsyD
Mary Dluhy, MSW, CGP, FAGPA
Mary Ann Dubner, PhD, CGP (sabbatical)
Stacey Jackson-Lampley, PhD
Beatrice Liebenberg, MSW, CGP, DFAGPA
Hallie Lovett, PhD, CGP
Farooq Mohyuddin, MD
Reginald Nettles, PhD, CGP
Leon Paparella, MSW, CGP
Rosemary Segalla, PhD, CGP
Jonathan Stillerman, PhD, CGP
Harriet Swankin, MSW, CGP (sabbatical)
Steve Van Wagoner, PhD, CGP, FAGPA (sabbatical)
Ayana Watkins-Northern, PhD, CGP
Barry Wepman, PhD, CGP, FAGPA



Scholarship Application

WSP has very limited scholarship funds. However we will try to help students with a payment plan and scholarship where possible.

About the
Washington School of Psychiatry

Celebrating its 80th year, the School is an accredited provider of post-graduate continuing education.

The Meyer Treatment Center provides low cost access to mental health services. It is an out-of-network facility for insurance purposes.

The Washington School of Psychiatry is an independent non-profit organization. It is not affiliated with the government of the District of Columbia or the government of the United States.

Location and Telephone

5028 Wisconsin Ave NW #400
Washington DC 20016

202-537-6050 Treatment Center

202-237-2700 School

202-237-2730 Fax




Washington School of Psychiatry

Shopping at Amazon?

Use Amazon Smile and the Washington School will receive a donation from Amazon on every purchase.


Use this link to get started:

Then shop as you normally would, with our thanks.

The Washington School of Psychiatry is a registered 501(c)3 charity.​